Astrup Fearnley Museet for Moderne Kunst

Uncertain States of America

08 Oct - 11 Dec 2005

Uncertain States of America
American Art in the 3rd Millennium
08 October - 11 December 2005

The exhibition is curated by the museums director Gunnar B. Kvaran and the internationally acclaimed curators Daniel Birnbaum and Hans Ulrich Obrist. Wishing to provide a picture of the new generation of American artists, the curators have chosen young artists with a new vision. This art can be characterized as narrative and with a clear social and political consciousness. Yet one can also find a wide specter of themes and artistic ‘languages' in the exhibition, which, in addition to extensive multi-media installations, includes a video- and sculpture exhibition, together with a program of performances, a lecture series and an extensive catalogue.

The artists presented in the exhibition:
Allora & Calzadilla
Edgar Arceneaux/Rodney McMillian
Devendra Banhart
Frank Benson
Jennifer Bornstein
Mike Bouchet
Matthew Brannon
Anthony Burdin
Paul Chan
Sean Dack
Trisha Donnelly
Jim Drain
Piero Golia
Hannah Greely
Taft Green
Karl Haendel
Christian Holstad
Shane Huffman
Jiae Hwang
Matthew Day Jackson
Matt Johnson
Miranda July
Nate Lowman
Daria Martin
Matt McCormick
Ohad Meromi
Kori Newkirk
Seth Price
Adam Putnam
Cristina Lei Rodriguez
Matthew Ronay
Mika Rottenberg
Aïda Ruilova
Paul Sietsema
Josh Smith
Mika Tajima
TM Sisters
Jordan Wolfson
Mario Ybarra Jr.
Aaron Young

© Mike Bouchet, Top Cruise, 2005 1000 sculptures made of clay and paint from Mexico, 80 m2, height 29 cm, Courtesy the artist and maccarone inc,. New York

Tags: Edgar Arceneaux, Frank Benson, Jennifer Bornstein, Mike Bouchet, Matthew Brannon, Anthony Burdin, Allora & Calzadilla, Paul Chan, Sean Dack, Trisha Donnelly, Piero Golia, Hannah Greely, Taft Green, Guyton\Walker, Karl Haendel, Christian Holstad, Matthew Day Jackson, Matt Johnson, Mario Ybarra Jr., Mario Ybarra Jr., Miranda July, Ji Lei, Nate Lowman, Daria Martin, Rodney McMillian, Ohad Meromi, Kori Newkirk, Hans-Ulrich Obrist, Seth Price, Adam Putnam, Cristina Lei Rodriguez, Matthew Ronay, Mika Rottenberg, Aïda Ruilova, Paul Sietsema, Josh Smith, Mika Tajima, Jordan Wolfson, Aaron Young