Astrup Fearnley Museet for Moderne Kunst


03 Nov - 31 Dec 2011

© Klara Liden
Paralyzed, 2003
3 November - 31 Decemebr, 2011

It is with both joy and sadness the Astrup Fearnley Museum of Modern Art this autumn invites to the last exhibition in the current premises. The exhibition VideoSpace is based on video art from the Astrup Fearnley Collection. In darkened rooms, we illustrate various aspects of international video art from 1976 to the present day.

Video art as a genre was established in the 1960s and 70s when the earliest portable video cameras were introduced and the technology was made available to the general public. With moving images as a starting point, video art has gone through a rapid development, and especially so since the digital revolution in the 1990s, which gave artists access to sophisticated technical solutions. The development has gone from simple single-channel views to large video installations, and we see among young artists today, countless varieties of these.

In this exhibition, prominent artists from Asia, Europe and the U.S., will be represented with key works that in various ways express themselves through the video medium. Their artistic intentions are diverse - ranging from personal, social, scientific, political, psychological to historical views that are shared with humor and wit as well with the utmost seriousness. Taken together, they show a substantial corpus of powerful images, stories and events that in time and space represents a number of important aspects of contemporary culture.

Exhibited artists: Cao Fei, Paul Chan, Trisha Donnelly, Nikhil Chopra, Douglas Gordon, Hu Xiangqian, Fabrice Hybert, Can Xuan, Peter Land, Liang Yue, Klara Liden, Ann Lislegaard, Lu Chunsheng, Paul McCarthy, Bruce Nauman, Adam Putnam, Qui Anxiong , Song Tao, Sam Taylor-Wood, Yang Fudong, Zhou Tao

Tags: Paul Chan, Nikhil Chopra, Lu Chunsheng, Trisha Donnelly, Cao Fei, Yang Fudong, Douglas Gordon, Fabrice Hybert, Peter Land, Lu Liang, Klara Liden, Ann Lislegaard, Paul McCarthy, Bruce Nauman, Adam Putnam, Song Tao, Al Taylor, Sam Taylor-Wood, Liang Yue