Berlinische Galerie

Marc Bauer

The Blow-up Regime GASAG Art Prize 2020. Marc Bauer (*1975 in Geneva, Switzerland) has won the GASAG Art Prize 2020. On the basis of intensive research, Marc Bauer develops expansive, complex installations based on the medium of drawing.

10 Sep 2020 - 05 Apr 2021

Marc Bauer, Z1,1936 (0,176kB), 2013, Bleistift auf Papier, 213 cm x 303 cm
© Marc Bauer Foto: Studio Marc Bauer, Courtesy the artist and Galerie Peter Kilchmann

With his pencil and eraser, the artist tackles themes like migration, identity and gender, critique of new media or the connection between religion and violence. Erasing images and integrating the traces of these deletions are part of his drawing process. In his installations, the artist builds on these works on paper with large drawn murals, animated drawings and film. The result is a suggestive dramatic composition of historical events and stories, fact and fiction, text and image, which taps into a broad understanding of science yet remains open to different interpretations.

For his exhibition at the Berlinische Galerie Marc Bauer is planning a broad investigation into the history of the Internet and how it has affected society and individuals.
GASAG Art Prize

The award initiated by GASAG will take place for the sixth time in partnership with the Berlinische Galerie. Every two years, the partners honour an outstanding artistic contribution at the interface between art, science and technology. The previous winners were: Susanne Kriemann (2010), Tue Greenfort (2012), Nik Nowak (2014), Andreas Greiner (2016) and Julian Charrière (2018).
The Jury

The Jury of the GASAG Art Prize 2020 consisted of: Julian Charrière, winner of the GASAG Art Prize 2018; Andreas Fiedler, KINDL – Centre for Contemporary Art; Dr Thomas Köhler and Dr Stefanie Heckmann, Berlinische Galerie; Dr Christina Landbrecht, Schering-Stiftung; Birgit Rieger, Tagesspiegel; Dr Julia Wallner, Georg Kolbe Museum

Nominated for the GASAG Art Prize 2020 were: Marc Bauer, Giulia Bowinkel and Friedemann Banz, Barbara Breitenfellner, Mariechen Danz, Regina de Miguel, Emilija Skarnulyte, Jenna Sutela