Bloomberg Space

No, future

29 Sep - 10 Nov 2007

© Leopold Kessler
Depot, 2004
Intervention/video, 2 mins, 50 secs
Courtesy of the artist and Galerie Andras Huber, Vienna

29 September – 10 November 2007

Starting with the notion of “positioning”, with the idea and principle of opposition, No, future, acknowledges the stance or attitude that a work or an artist might take in relation to their environment or circumstances. Some works mimic a pre-existing form in order to do this, others use the most immediate sources and materials, some exist as raw energy, close to their origins and incisive in their delivery. A work acting as an accurate reflection of a given habit, code or form can reveal it as affectation or formal vacuum and humour is often an important part of this dynamic, embodying a kind of intelligent aggression. This show deals with the subversive nature of all art making and demonstrates its essential energy. This is not to say that the work is issue based, or directly political or moral. On the contrary, it is often evasive and ambiguous, seeking a free space.
No, future was developed from an idea by David G. Torres in collaboration with Graham Gussin and Sacha Craddock. David G. Torres is an art critic and curator based in Barcelona.

“Thought is made in the mouth” – Tristan Tzara

Ignasi Aballí, Karmelo Bermejo, Rafel G. Bianchi, Jordi Colomer, Matthew Crawley, François Curlet, Brice Dellsperger, Anna Fasshauer, Oriana Fox, Graham Gussin, Jens Haaning, Cameron Irving, Leopold Kessler, T.R. Uthco and Ant Farm, Sarah Lucas, Paul McCarthy, Mark McGowan, Jonathan Meese, Antonio Ortega, Erkan Őzgen and Şener Őzmen, Simon Patterson, Cesare Pietroiusti and Paul Griffiths, Tere Recarens, Guy Richards Smit, Franck Scurti, Carey Young.

Tags: Ignasi Aballí, Ant Farm, Karmelo Bermejo, Rafel G. Bianchi, Jordi Colomer, François Curlet, Brice Dellsperger, Anna Fasshauer, Graham Gussin, Jens Haaning, Leopold Kessler, Sarah Lucas, Paul McCarthy, Jonathan Meese, Antonio Ortega, Sener Özmen, Simon Patterson, Cesare Pietroiusti, Tere Recarens, Franck Scurti, Carey Young