Marks of Honour - A Striking Library

29 May - 05 Jul 2009

© PoppeLoewenhaupt

29 May until 5 July 2009

Marks of Honour – A Striking Library is a homage to the photo book. The exhibition shows the inspiration a new generation of relevant photographers has had from the history of photography in the form of books. The photo book is a source for artistic inspiration and creative reference, especially since Robert Frank published his Les Amйricains in 1958. Photography in books has not only influenced collectors and curators, but also generations of photographers.
Thirteen international photographers were invited to choose a photo book, which was influential to the formation of their work, and to pay it artistically homage. All participating works contain the original photo book and its complementary ‘homage’. Besides the original works the exhibition consists of multimedia presentations, photographs, drawings and reproductions. Foam is the first museum to present this stupendous library.

Participating artists:
Harvey Benge honours William Eggleston
Chris Coekin honours Duncker/Tuunanen
Peter Granser honours Robert Frank
Pieter Hugo honours Roland Barthes
Tiina Itkonen honours Pentti Sammallahti
Onaka Koji honours DaidoMoriyama
Jens Liebchen honours Anthony Hernandez
Michael Light honours Ansel Adams
Mark Power honours Stephen Shore
Matthew Sleeth honours Lars Tunbjцrk
Alec Soth honours Andrea Modica
Jules Spinatsch honours Block 2008
Raimond Wouda honours Paul Shambroom

Marks of Honour was initiated by Markus Schaden ( photobookshop, Cologne) and Willem van Zoetendaal (Van Zoetendaal Gallery, Amsterdam) in 2005. In 2005 there have been invited forty-one international photographers to choose a photo book which was influential to the formation of their work, and to pay it artistical homage. The resulting works have been shown in Amsterdam at Foam and at the Van Zoetendaal gallery. The basic concept remains the same. In Marks of Honour – A Striking Library there are only thirteen photographers participating, to obtain a higher focus. A catalogue will be published by This project has been organized by Nina Poppe and Verena Loewenhaupt, supported by ArtBookCologne and photobookshop.

Tags: Ansel Adams, William Eggleston, Robert Frank, Peter Granser, Anthony Hernandez, Pieter Hugo, Michael Light, Stephen Shore, Alec Soth