Kiasma | Museum of Contemporary Art


Hello World!

31 Mar 2017 - 14 Jan 2018

Charles Richardson Vanish, 2016. Photo: Charles Richardson
Cécile B. Evans, What the Heart Wants, 2016. Photo: Finnish National Gallery / Pirje Mykkänen
Julia Varela, X/5.000, 2015-26. Photo: Finnish National Gallery / Pirje Mykkänen
Hello World!
31 March 2017 - 14 January 2018

The internet and digitalization have radically altered our everyday lives. They have transformed our work, recreation, culture and economy and changed the way we communicate with one another. The internet has become a platform for constructing identities and expressing emotions. And, inevitably, the digital revolution has also influenced the practice of art.

ARS17 is a major exhibition of international contemporary art on the theme of digital revolution. The exhibition will showcase artists of the new millennium and offer a fresh approach to contemporary art by also expanding the viewing experience into the online realm.

The exhibition showcases a large number of leading contemporary artists:
ARS17 artists

To read about the exhibits and to compile lists of favourites, use ARS17 mobile guide:
Guide to ARS17

ARS17 also features a varied events programme:
ARS17 events and performances

ARS17 will serve as a platform for Kiasma to develop the methods for presenting art and jaettavuutta. As part of the exhibition, the museum will launch a website, ARS17+ Online Art presenting online artworks.

Experience ARS17+

The ARS exhibitions are a series of major surveys of international contemporary art that have been organised since 1961. In total, the exhibitions have had more than a million visitors, presenting work by about 600 artists or groups.

ARS17 is the ninth exhibition in the series, and the fourth to be held in the Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma. ARS17 is part of the programme for the centenary of Finland’s independence.

ARS17 features works by several Finnish and international contemporary artists. Many of the featured artists have conquered the internet in one way or another. Many of them have their works in the most prestigious collections in the world, and they have exhibited in key forums of art, including the international biennales in Venice and Berlin.

Read more about the works:

Ed Atkins (1982 Great Britain)

Andrey Bogush (1987 Russia)

Nina Canell (1979 Sweden)

Cécile B. Evans (1983 USA/ Belgium)

Melanie Gilligan (1979 Canada)

Juha van Ingen (1963 Finland)

Yung Jake (2011 Internet)

Ilja Karilampi (1983 Sweden)

Nandita Kumar (1981 Mauritius)

Tuomas A. Laitinen (1976 Finland)

LaBeouf, Rönkkö & Turner – Shia LaBeouf (1986 USA), Nastja Säde Rönkkö (1985 Finland), Luke Turner (1982 Great Britain)

Reija Meriläinen (1987 Finland)

Katja Novitskova (1984 Estonia)

Jaakko Pallasvuo (1987 Finland)

Aude Pariset (1983 France)

Jon Rafman (1981 Canada)

Charles Richardson (1979 Great Britain)

Rachel Rossin (1987 USA)

Jacolby Satterwhite (1986 USA)

Ryan Trecartin (1981 USA)

Hito Steyerl (1966 Germany)

Anna Uddenberg (1982 Sweden)

Julia Varela (1986 Spain)

Artie Vierkant (1986 USA)

As part of ARS17, the museum will launch a website, ARS17+ Online Art presenting online works by approximately 20 artists.

David Blandy (1976 Great Britain)

Ed Fornieles (1983 Great Britain)

Juha van Ingen (1963 Finland)

Rachel Maclean (1987 Great Britain)

Florian Meisenberg (1980 Germany)

Reija Meriläinen (1987 Finland)

Pink Twins, Juha Vehviläinen & Vesa Vehviläinen (1978 & 1974 Finland)

Angelo Plessas (1974 Greece)

Jon Rafman (1981 Canada)

Tuomo Rainio (1983 Finland)

Charles Richardson (1979 Great Britain)

Jarkko Räsänen (1984 Finland)

Axel Straschnoy (1978 Argentina)

Jenna Sutela (1983 Finland)

Amalia Ulman (1989 Argentina)

The ARS17 programme at Kiasma Theatre includes guest performances and four Finnish premières.

Florentina Holzinger & Vincent Riebeek (Austria, Netherlands)

Rodrigo Sobarzo (Chile)

Otso Huopaniemi & Pilvari Pirtola (Finland)

WAUHAUS, Samuli Laine, Jussi Matikainen, Aku Meriläinen, Jarkko Partanen (Finland)

Anna-Mari Karvonen & Anni Puolakka (Finland)

Mikko Hynninen, Eeva Muilu, Jaakko Pietiläinen, Antti Salminen, Jani-Matti Salo, Masi Tiitta, Elina Vainio (Finland)


Tags: Cécile B. Evans