Kunstverein Braunschweig

Lichtparcours: Auftakt

14 - 25 May 2015

14 – 25 May 2015

The city of Braunschweig initiated three temporary exhibitions in public space with its Lichtparcours 2000, the Braunschweig Parcours 2004 and the Lichtparcours 2010. Following this, a fourth version of the Braunschweig Lichtparcours will take place in the summer of 2016.
The initial idea for the concept of Lichtparcours 2016 is to take a closer look at the change of natural light conditions in public space and to present artistic works that reflect on this continuously changing environment 24 hours a day. Concentrating on artificial light at night and the sculptural or architectural qualities of the art works during the day, the Lichtparcours 2016 creates a framework for the experience and critical contextualisation of natural and artificial light in public space. For this purpose, a selection of international artists was invited to Braunschweig and requested to create new works.
In addition to bridges, houses and parks along the Braunschweig City Moat – a special feature of Braunschweigs’s architecture –, the harbour Braunschweig-Veltenhof will be included in the exhibition area for the first time. Following the path of the water, the outskirts of Braunschweig will be brought into focus and the exhibition will be enriched by new settings.
The concepts of the invited artists are displayed at the Braunschweiger Kunstverein between 14 and 25 May 2015. Showing sketches, models, video animations and related works, the exhibition introduces the 15 proposals and reflects on the different strategies of artistic interventions in urban spaces.

Julius von Bismarck (*1983 DE), Björn Dahlem (*1974 DE), Danica Dakić (*1962 BIH), Andreas Fischer (*1972 DE), Thilo Frank (*1978 DE), Elín Hansdóttir (*1980 ISL), Edwin van der Heide (*1970 NLD), Erika Hock (*1981 KGZ), Alfredo Jaar (*1956 CHL), Tobias Rehberger (*1966 DE), Michael Sailstorfer (*1979 DE), Kevin Schmidt (*1972 CAN), Kai Schiemenz (*1966 DE), Studio Drift (Lonneke Gordijn *1980 NLD; Ralph Nauta *1978 GB)
Yvonne Goulbier (*1953 DE) plans to extend an existing work.
The selection of artists follows the suggestions of a jury consisting of Hilke Wagner (Director of Dresdner Albertinum), Roland Nachtigäller (Director of Marta Herford), Dr. Susanne Pfleger (Director of Städtische Galerie Wolfsburg), John Jaspers (Director of Zentrum für Internationale Lichtkunst Unna), Bettina Catler-Pelz (freelance curator) and Dr. Anja Hesse (City Councillor for Culture and the Sciences, Braunschweig).

Tags: Julius von Bismarck, Björn Dahlem, Danica Dakic, Studio Drift, Andreas Fischer, Elín Hansdóttir, Erika Hock, Alfredo Jaar, Roland Nachtigäller, Tobias Rehberger, Michael Sailstorfer, Kai Schiemenz, Kevin Schmidt