Manifesta 3 Ljubljana

23 Jun - 24 Sep 2000

The European Biennial of Contemporary Art
23 June - 24 September 2000

Francesco Bonami
Ole Bouman
Hlavajova Maria
Kathrin Rhomberg

For Manifesta 3 the work by artists, artists’ collectives, urban planners and architects was spread over three main venues. For the first time, Manifesta received press coverage in the United States of America, but no less important was the high proportion of visitors from neighbouring countries in East and South-East Europe. Another brand new initiative was to give the exhibition a theme, which the curatorial team named Borderline Syndrome. Energies of Defence. In order to support the subject they were exploring they also solicited catalogue contributions not only from a wide range of Slovenian and foreign intellectuals (philosophers, historians and sociologists among others), but also from the general public. The catalogue has turned today into a collector’s item. The nature of the events in Ljubljana reflected the thriving intellectual life of the city and the relevance of interdisciplinary practice in the arts particularly, the crossover between visual art, cinema and performance, and interaction with new media.


Gruppo A12
Adel Abdessemed
Paweł Althamer
Maja Bajević
Simone Berti
Ursula Biemann
Roland Boden
Agnese Bule
Phil Collins
Joost Conijn
Josef Dabernig
Colin Darke
Michael Elmgreen & Ingar Dragset
Urs Fischer
Nayia Frangouli & Yane Calovski
Marcus Geiger
De Geuzen
Amit Goren
Veli Granö
Pravdoliub Ivanov
Ivana Jelavić
Daniel Jewesbury
Ian Kiaer
Šejla Kamerić
Koo Jeong-a
Edward Krasiński
Darij Kreuh
Denisa Lehocká
Alexander Melkonyan
Matthias Müller
Paul Noble
Anton Olshvang
Roman Ondák
Anatoly Osmolovsky
Adrian Paci
Manfred Pernice
Diego Perrone
Susan Philipsz
Marjetica Potrč
Arturas Raila
Rasmus Knud & Soren Andreasen
Anri Sala
Bülent Şangar
Sanna Sarva
Tomo Savić-Gecan
Schie 2.0
Ene-Liis Semper
Simon J. Starling
Nika Špan
Nasrin Tabatabai
Joëlle Tuerlinckx
Sarah Tripp
Francisco Tropa
Sislej Xhafa
Gregor Zivić
Jasmila Žbanić

Tags: Koo Jeong A, Gruppo A12, Adel Abdessemed, Paweł Althamer, Soren Andreasen, Maja Bajevic, Simone Berti, Ursula Biemann, Roland Boden, Francesco Bonami, Ole Bouman, Agnese Bule, Yane Calovski, Phil Collins, Joost Conijn, Josef Dabernig, Colin Darke, Michael Elmgreen & Ingar Dragset, Urs Fischer, Nayia Frangouli, Marcus Geiger, De Geuzen, Amit Goren, Veli Granö, Pravdoliub Ivanov, Ivana Jelavić, Daniel Jewesbury, Sejla Kameric, Ian Kiaer, Rasmus Knud, Edward Krasinski, Darij Kreuh, Denisa Lehocka, Hlavajova Maria, Alexander Melkonyan, Matthias Müller, Paul Noble, Anton Olshvang, Roman Ondák, Anatoly Osmolovsky, Adrian Paci, Manfred Pernice, Diego Perrone, Susan Philipsz, Marjetica Potrc, Arturas Raila, Kathrin Rhomberg, Anri Sala, Bülent Şangar, Sanna Sarva, Tomo Savić-Gecan, Ene-Liis Semper, Nika Špan, Simon J. Starling, Nasrin Tabatabai, Sarah Tripp, Francisco Tropa, Joëlle Tuerlinckx, Sislej Xhafa, Jasmila Žbanić, Gregor Zivić