Manifesta 8 Murcia

09 Oct 2010 - 09 Jan 2011

The European Biennial of Contemporary Art
The Region of Murcia, Spain
9 October 2010 – 9 January 2011

Alexandria Contemporary Arts Forum (ACAF), Chamber of Public Secrets (CPS) and

On January 9, 2011, Manifesta 8 – the European Biennial of Contemporary Art, came to a close after 100 days in the host cities of Murcia and Cartagena in southeast Spain. Manifesta 8 took place in 14 venues, five of which were historical buildings specially refurbished for Manifesta, plus four media spaces. Manifesta 8 was curated by three independent curatorial collectives, each of them developing a project as an autonomous curatorial contribution. The collectives are ACAF – Alexandria Contemporary Arts Forum, CPS – Chamber of Public Secrets and The positive results achieved by Manifesta 8 in the Region of Murcia have been attested by 110,000 visitors, who have been welcomed at the 14 venues during the exhibition period. Furthermore over 10% of the total visitors to Manifesta 8 participated to one of the many education, outreach and art mediation programs on offer.

For the first time, the Biennial integrated a sub-theme in its title – a dialogue with northern Africa as a direct consequence of geopolitical issues in the region where it took place. In different interdisciplinary projects, this theme was sometimes explicit, sometimes inferred and sometimes highlighted in historical films, photographs and aligned works by artists from Africa, with particular emphasis on the history of Arabic culture rooted in the Region of Murcia. Manifesta 8 incorporated a large number of Parallel Events spread throughout the region of Murcia, as well as television and radio programs, publications, Internet sites and multi-media projects.


Abed Anouti
AGM 10 Annual General Meeting
Basma AlSharif
Esref Armagan
Mounira Al Solh
Babi Badalov
Erick Beltran
Gonzalo Ballester
Igor & Ivan Buharov
Lene Berg
Michael Paul Britto
Neil Beloufa
Pablo Bronstein
Banu Cennetoglu / Shiri Zinn
Boris Charmatz
Celine Condorelli
Common Culture
Danilo Correale
Ergin Cavusoglu
Filipa César
Heman Chong
Lou Lou Cherinet
Cristina David
Juan Downey
Kajsa Dahlberg
Stephan Dillemuth
Willie Doherty
Aida Eltorie
Alfonso Escudero
Anders Eiebakke
Marcelo Expósito & Verónica Iglesia
Sherif El-Azma
Carla Filipe
Simon Fujiwara
Alexandra Galkina
Laurent Grasso
Melanie Gilligan
Pedro G. Romero / Archivo F.X.
Ryan Gander
Thierry Geoffroy/ Colonel
Karl Holmqvist
Khaled Hafez
Nav Haq
Ralf Homann
Sung Hwan Kim
Incubator for a Pan-African Roaming Biennial
Adela Jušic
Ann Veronica Janssens
Hassan Khan
Mahmoud Khaled
Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc/ Sarah Maldoror
Irene Lucas & Christoph Euler
Ana Martínez
Charles Mudede
Darius Miksys
Erlea Maneros Zabala
Kenny Muhammad & Adam Carrigan
Nastio Mosquito
Rosell Meseguer
Suhail Malik
Angel Nevarez & Valerie Tevere
Fay Nicolson
Bouchra Ouizguen
Lorraine O’Grady
Nada Prlja
Olivia Plender
Prayers for Art
Ariel Reichman
David Rych
Emily Roysdon
Jasper Rigole
María Ruido
n.e.w.s.:Renée Ridgway/Rick van Amersfoort
Wanda Raimundi-Ortiz
Alexandre Singh
Catarina Simao
Jean-Marc Superville Sovak
Kim Sung Hwan
Nikolaus Schletterer
Ruti Sela
Mariusz Tarkawian
Michael Takeo Magruder
Stefanos Tsivopoulos
Take to the Sea
The Action Mill
The MoCHA Sessions
The Otolith Group
Martin Vongrej
Tomáš Vanek
Tris Vonna-Michell
Tanja Widmann
Raed Yassin

Tags: Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc, Babi Badalov, Neïl Beloufa, Erick Beltrán, Lene Berg, Pablo Bronstein, Ergin Cavusoglu, Banu Cennetoglu, Filipa César, César, Boris Charmatz, Heman Chong, Thierry Geoffroy/Colonel, Colonel, Celine Condorelli, Danilo Correale, Kajsa Dahlberg, Cristina David, Stephan Dillemuth, Willie Doherty, Juan Downey, Marcelo Expósito, Carla Filipe, Simon Fujiwara, Ryan Gander, Melanie Gilligan, Laurent Grasso, The Otolith Group, Khaled Hafez, Karl Holmqvist, Ann Veronica Janssens, C.T. Jasper, Hassan Khan, Sung Hwan Kim, Rosell Meseguer, Metahaven, Darius Miksys, Nástio Mosquito, Lorraine O'Grady, Olivia Plender, Ariel Reichman, Pedro G. Romero, Emily Roysdon, María Ruido, Nikolaus Schletterer, Ruti Sela, Alexandre Singh, Mounira Al Solh, Sung, Stefanos Tsivopoulos, Tomas Vanek, Tris Vonna-Michell, Erlea Maneros Zabala