Museum Ludwig

Wolfgang Hahn Prize 2011 for John Miller

13 Apr - 31 Oct 2011

John Miller
Im Vordergrund: Self-Made Man, 2011
Erwerbung der Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst und des Museum Ludwig Im Hintergrund links: Now we ́re big potatoes, 1992, Gaby und Wilhelm Schürmann, Herzogenrath Im Hintergrund rechts: Fotos der Serie Middle of the Day, Erwerbung der Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst und des Museum Ludwig © John Miller, Gaby und Wilhelm Schürman Foto: Lothar Schnepf, Köln
13 April - 31 October, 2011

This year’s Wolfgang Hahn Prize will be given to John Miller. The Gesell-schaft für Moderne Kunst awards its prize annually to honor a contem-porary artist whose oeuvre is internationally recognized. Miller’s complex work investigates the wide spectrum of issues ranging from technology and the individual to society which, according to Miller, were anticipated by Concept Art and Fluxus. Presented on the museum’s top floor, a small exhibition assembling sculpture, photography, painting, and audiovisual works will offer an overview of Miller’s work. Born in Cleveland in 1954, the artist has produced a new two-part sculpture for the museum collec-tion. Created from advertisement columns, among the elements Miller used for this piece was a personal ad of a self-made man. After the exhibi-tion, Self-Made Man and photographs from the series Middle of the Day will remain in the Museum Ludwig, forming a representative body of Mil-ler’s work that will extend and complement our holdings.

On the Wolfgang Hahn Prize:

COLOGNE With the Wolfgang Hahn Prize COLOGNE, the Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst pays tribute to the work of contemporary artists and purchases a work for Museum Ludwig. The acquisi-tion prize is in memory of Wolfgang Hahn (1924 – 1987), head conservator at the Wallraf-Richartz Museum / Museum Ludwig and a far-sighted Cologne collector. An ongoing line of development in the artist’s creative output and international recognition within professional circles are two of the requirements for the prize, along with the stipulation that the artist’s oeuvre is not yet adequately represented in Museum Ludwig but important for the continuance of the collection. The budget for the prize amounts to a maximum of 100,000 euros per annum. In 2011 the Wolfgang Hahn Prize COLOGNE will be awarded for the 17th time in succession. Since 1994, the Wolfgang Hahn Prize COLOGNE has been awarded to:

James Lee Byars (1994) Lawrence Weiner (1995) Günther Förg (1996) Cindy Sherman (1997) Franz West (1998) Pipilotti Rist (1999) Hubert Kiecol (2000) Raymond Pettibon (2001) Isa Genzken (2002) Niele Toroni (2003) Rosemarie Trockel (2004) Richard Artschwager (2005) Mike Kelley (2006) Peter Doig (2008) Christopher Wool (2009) Fischli/Weiss (2010)

Tags: Richard Artschwager, James Lee Byars, Peter Doig, Günther Förg, Isa Genzken, Mike Kelley, Hubert Kiecol, John Miller, Raymond Pettibon, Pipilotti Rist, Cindy Sherman, Niele Toroni, Rosemarie Trockel, Lawrence Weiner, Fischli & Weiss, Franz West, Christopher Wool