Sala Rekalde

Gure Artea 2008

09 Oct - 30 Nov 2008

20th edition of the Basque Government ́s Visual Arts Awards

October 09th - November 30th, 2008

Gure Artea is the main visual arts award in the Basque Country. Sponsored by the Basque Government, it was established in 1982 and its function since then has been to promote and make known art from the Basque context and the artists engaged in producing it.
Since 1996, the award takes place every two years. A jury designated by the Basque Government ́s Department of Culture and composed of the exhibition curator and three other members makes a selection of work from what has been received in the open call. This year the curator for the competition is Miren Jaio (art critic), and the members of the jury are Anna María Guasch (Lecturer in Contemporary Art History at the University of Barcelona), Pablo Lafuente (critic and managing director of the journal "Afterall") and Carla Zaccagnini (artist and curator of the cultural centre Sâo Paulo).
The collective exhibition "Gure Artea" is the first step in the awards. In the 2008 edition, work will be shown by Lorea Alfaro, Atoma, Nadia Barkate, Inazio Escudero, Mikel Eskauriaza, Iñaki Imaz, Iratxe Jaio and Klaas van Gorkum, Maider López, Asier Mendizabal, Kiko Pérez, Xabier Salaberria and Manu Uranga. On 9 October, which is the inauguration day for the show at the sala rekalde, the names of the three award winners will be announced.
In 2009, the Basque Government will organise an exhibition presenting the works of the three artists chosen, at Artium in Alava. The Department of Culture will then promote the show as an itinerant exhibition outside of the Basque Country.

Tags: Maider López, Asier Mendizabal, Xabier Salaberria, Carla Zaccagnini