Han Feng

28 Feb 2014 - 14 Apr 2015

Exhibition view
28 February - 14 April 2014

Han Feng (b.1972) is a subtle painter and a quirky installation artist. In 2008, he received the “Creative M50 Jury Award” and two years later Han Feng won the first prize of “John Moores Painting Prize (China)”.

Britain’s Saatchi Gallery and Japan’s Aichi Triennial both exhibited major works of Han Feng in 2013. In 2012, Han Feng had a solo exhibition at CCCA Manchester and in 2011 his works were shown at the 3rd Biennial at the End of the World in Ushuaia, Argentina as well as in MoCA and Around Space both in Shanghai.

1972 Born in Harbin, China
1998 Graduated from the Harbin Art Institute
2008 Jury Grand Award of 2008 Creative M50**
2009 Graduated from Shanghai University of Art
2010 First Prize of John Moores Painting Prize (China)*

* John Moores Painting Prize The “John Moores Painting Prize” is one of the oldest (established in1957) and most important painting prizes worldwide. It is also part of the Liverpool Biennial. Winners include Peter Doig, Michael Raedecker, Lisa Milroy, and more back even Richard Hamilton and David Hockney. “The John Moores Painting Prize (China)” was established in 2010 and Han Feng won the First prize for his painting “Airplane” (now in the DSL collection). The jury in 2010 consists of Lewis Biggs, the curator of Liverpool Triennial, artist Zeng Fanzhi and some other celebrities of art circle.

** Creative M50 Established in 2007, Creative M50 is a prize award yearly for young and unique artists from all over China. “The Creative M50 Jury Award” is the most important prize of the over 20 nomination artist from the yearly Creative M50 awards. The 2008 jury members, when Han Feng was awarded the prize, included artists such as Ding Yi, Wang Xing Wei, Xue Song and Zhou Tiehai; and Zhang Qing, the Curator and Director of NAMOC (National Art Museum of China), as well as Jin Weidong of M50 creative district.

Tags: Peter Doig, Zeng Fanzhi, Richard Hamilton, Ma Han, David Hockney, Ou Jin, Zhang Qing, Li Qing, Lu Qing, Michael Raedecker, Xue Song, Zhou Tiehai, Ding Yi, O Zhang