Site Santa Fe Inernational Biennial

2nd International Biennial Santa Fe

18 Jul - 12 Oct 1997

Installation View, 1997
2nd International Biennial Santa Fe
Truce: Echoes of Art in an Age of Endless Conclusions
18 July 1997 - 12 October 1997

Francesco Bonami

SITE’s second Biennial, TRUCE: Echoes of Art in an Age of Endless Conclusions, benefited from the concurrent opening of the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum as well as the second ART Santa Fe Contemporary Art Fair, producing a triple header that attracted the art world’s attention. Aptly named, this Biennial signaled a truce with the community by engaging in dialogues with local voices. Curator Francesco Bonami assembled 27 artists from 20 countries whose work connected isolated individuals to communal forces and contested our culture’s language of violence as “the only transmitter of meaning.” Among this Biennial’s successes count Sam Taylor-Wood’s simultaneous videos of five isolated people narrating their lives, Esko Männikkö’s bleak photographs of West Texas Hispanic communities, subREAL’s documenting of Ceaucescu’s fall, and, in his first U.S. showing, William Kentridge’s animations of post-apartheid South Africa.


Polly Apfelbaum
Massimo Bartolini
Vanessa Beecroft
Miguel Rio Branco
Maurizio Cattelan
Giuseppe Gabellone
Kevin Hanley
Noritoshi Hirakawa
Gary Hume
Martin Polák & Lukás Jasansky
Alexis Leyva Machado KCHO
William Kentridge
Suchan Kinoshita
Udomsak Krisanamis
Sharon Lockhart
Esko Männikkö
Tracey Moffatt
Chris Moore
Elizabeth Peyton
Huang Yong Ping
Tobias Rehberger
Rudolf Stingel
Cãlin Dan & Josif Kiraly Subreal
Sam Taylor-Wood
Pascale Marthine Tayou
Jaan Toomik
Eulalia Valldosera


Tags: Polly Apfelbaum, Massimo Bartolini, Vanessa Beecroft, Miguel Rio Branco, Maurizio Cattelan, Giuseppe Gabellone, Kevin Hanley, Noritoshi Hirakawa, Gary Hume, Kcho, William Kentridge, Suchan Kinoshita, Udomsak Krisanamis, Sharon Lockhart, Esko Männikkö, Tracey Moffatt, Elizabeth Peyton, Huang Yong Ping, Tobias Rehberger, Rudolf Stingel, Al Taylor, Sam Taylor-Wood, Pascale Marthine Tayou, Jaan Toomik, Eulália Valldosera