Tanya Leighton

End Note

27 Nov 2010 - 28 Jan 2011

End Note, 2011
(installation view at Tanya Leighton Gallery, Berlin)
27 November 2010 - 29 January 2011

An exhibition curated by Robert Okuda Fitzpatrick in collaboration with Tanya Leighton and Archive Kabinett.

Participating artists: Ayreen Anastas & Rene Gabri, Nina Beier, Nina Beier & Marie Lund, Melanie Bonajo & Kinga Kielczynska, Pavel Büchler , Andreas Bunte, Daniel Gustav Cramer & Haris Epaminonda, Simon Denny, Jason Dodge, Karl Holmqvist, Christodoulos Panayiotou, Dan Rees, Rupert Smyth , Megan Francis Sullivan, Erik van der Weijde, Jean-Michel Wicker, XYM and contributing artists from the pilot issue of SOMETHING BLUE (edited and designed by Neue Alte Brücke / Mark Dickinson)

As we approach that time of year when the dreary days of winter imminently await us, and the inclination to stay indoors to flip through books, magazines and other printed matter takes precedence over gallery visits, Tanya Leighton and Archive Kabinett invite you to consider the role that publications play in an artist's practice.

The first chapter of End Note, on view at Tanya Leighton Gallery, includes work that uses existing publications, manuscripts, book collections and archives as sources for reinventing the word or image, and examines the extended life of the printed form. The second chapter of the exhibition, on display at Archive Kabinett, considers alternative modes for presenting publications, by freeing up the genre from the confines of the bounded form.

A series of talks, performances, and events will be scheduled as part of this exhibition.

With special thanks to: Laura Bartlett, Daniel Buchholz, Jenny Chert, Oliver Croy, Ellie de Verdier, Chiara Figone, Alex Freedman, Verena Kaminiarz, Ben Kaufmann, Johan König, Sylvia Kouvali, Henrikke Nielsen, Giti Nourbakhsch, Jean-Claude Freymond-Guth, Marion Reis, Yael Salomonowitz, Clemens Tissi, Luke Warda, Christa Winkels, Nine Yamamoto-Masson, and the staff at Archive Kabinett.

Tags: Ayreen Anastas, Nina Beier, Melanie Bonajo, Pavel Büchler, Andreas Bunte, Daniel Gustav Cramer, Simon Denny, Jason Dodge, Haris Epaminonda, Rene Gabri, Karl Holmqvist, Nina Beier & Marie Lund, Marie Lund, Christodoulos Panayiotou, Dan Rees, Megan Francis Sullivan, Erik Van Der Weijde