Tate Britain

Turner Prize 2008

30 Sep 2008 - 18 Jan 2009

The winner of the Turner Prize 2008 was Mark Leckey.

The Turner Prize is a contemporary art award that was set up in 1984 to celebrate new developments in contemporary art.

The prize is awarded to an artist under fifty, born, living or working in Britain, for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation in the twelve months before 6 May 2008.

Nominations are invited each year, and the prize is judged by an independent jury that changes annually. Four artists are shortlisted and they present works in a show normally held at Tate Britain before the winner is announced in December. The artists are not judged on their show at Tate – the decision is based on the work for which they were nominated.

Runa Islam
Mark Leckey
Goshka Macuga
Cathy Wilkes

David Adjaye, Architect and Director, Adjaye Associates
Daniel Birnbaum, Director, Staatliche Hochschule für Bildende Künste, Frankfurt
Suzanne Cotter, Senior Curator and Deputy Director, Modern Art Oxford
Jennifer Higgie, Editor, Frieze
Stephen Deuchar, Director, Tate Britain and Chair of the Jury

Tags: David Adjaye, Daniel Birnbaum, Suzanne Cotter, Stephen Deuchar, Jennifer Higgie, Runa Islam, Mark Leckey, Goshka Macuga, Cathy Wilkes