Tate Britain

Turner Prize 2019

28 Sep 2019 - 12 Jan 2020

One of the best-known prizes for visual arts in the world, Turner Prize 2019 is coming to Turner Contemporary.

The Turner Prize is awarded annually to an artist born, living or working in Britain, for an outstanding exhibition or public presentation of their work anywhere in the world in the previous year.

The four shortlisted artists for the Turner Prize 2019 are:

Lawrence Abu Hamdan
Helen Cammock
Oscar Murillo
Tai Shani

For the first time ever, the award has been given to a collective bringing together the four nominated artists: Abu Hamdan/Cammock/Murillo/Shani. Read the press release.

It is the first time that the venue for the Turner Prize, which has been staged outside of London every other year since 2011, has had a direct connection with J.M.W Turner. Turner Contemporary stands on the site of artist’s lodging house and enjoys views of the skies that Turner felt were ‘the loveliest in all Europe’.

The members of the Turner Prize 2019 jury are:

Alessio Antoniolli, Director, Gasworks & Triangle Network
Elvira Dyangani Ose, Director of the Showroom Gallery, London
Victoria Pomery, Director, Turner Contemporary, Margate
Charlie Porter, writer
The jury is chaired by Alex Farquharson, Director of Tate Britain.

Tags: Alessio Antoniolli, Helen Cammock, Alex Farquharson, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Oscar Murillo, Elvira Dyangani Ose, Victoria Pomery, Charlie Porter, Tai Shani