15 Feb - 07 Apr 2013

“El primero que ría”, 2012, 12:17 min.,16:9, Courtesy Galeria Hilario Galguera
15 February - 7 April 2013

Sergio Belinchon, Helen Benigson, Bigert & Bergström, Mariola Brillowska, Jasper van den Brink & Yasmijn Karhof, Elkin Calderón, Monica Cook, Eli Cortiñas, Tanja Deman, Bettina Disler, Charles Fairbanks, Toby Huddlestone, Yuk-Yiu IP, Christian Jankowski, Mikhail Karikis & Uriel Orlow, Laleh Khorramian, Vika Kirchenbauer, Aglaia Konrad, Michal Kosakowski, Daniel Kötter, Clemens Krauss & Benjamin Heisenberg, Robert-Jan Lacombe, Daniel Laufer, Chang-Jin Lee, Mauricio Limón, Melanie Manchot, Dani Marti, Agnes Meyer-Brandis, Meena Nanji & Tommy Gear, Florin Tudor & Mona Vatamanu, Evamaria Schaller, Frances Scholz, Lina Selander, Martin Skauen, Gabriele Stellbaum, Hito Steyerl, Jon Thomson & Alison Craighead, Arthur Tuoto, Bridget Walker, Gernot Wieland, Tobias Yves Zintel.

The young man with the gun knows no mercy – Michael Kosakowski transfers the murder fantasies of his interview partner into a fictional portrayal. The resulting work, “Zero Killed”, is a challenge to the moral principles of the viewer. This video work is an example of how media art currently explores new documentary techniques and is one of the 41 positions on display at VIDEONALE.14 in the Kunstmuseum Bonn.
The Videonale was founded in 1984 and is one of the oldest video art festivals in the world.
The record number of submissions of the previous Videonale was once again exceeded: The jury of the 14th edition had to sift through more than 2100 works from 70 countries.

“The investigation of private histories, but also of collective memories, crosses the boundaries between reality and fiction in order to examine the subject of the story from various sides. Dramatic mixed forms result which, with new, open ways of telling a story, cast their spell over the viewer", says Tasja Langenbach, artistic director of VIDEONALE.14.

In “like rats leaving a sinking ship”, a highly personal collage of visual and acoustical documents, Vika Kirchenbauer, who frequently poses questions about identity, gender, feminism and political activity in her works, pursues her own search for identity as a transgender. In “Slideshow Johnny”, Martin Skauen investigates the blurred borders of identity: with sombre poetry and surreal performances he pushes the possibilities of artistic self-portrayal to its very limits. And in “In free fall”, Hito Steyerl merges the life cycle of an aircraft with personal stories and fictional elements to produce a criticism of the dynamic of the capitalistic system.

But also the past of the almost 30 year old Videonale is reflected in this year’s selection: Besides numerous interesting artists of the younger generation, well known names like Frances Scholz, Christian Jankowski, Meena Nanji and Melanie Manchot are found once more.
”Works which differ greatly can be found: tranquil ones which take their time - both documentaries and ones with strongly narrative elements; but also a large number of short clips which emphasise sound and are characterised by their rhythm, by a rapid collage of different pictorial elements”, says Heike Ander, curator of the Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln (Academy of Media Arts Cologne) and member of the jury.

The Jury comprised Heike Ander (curator of the Academy of Media Arts Cologne), Katerina Valdivia Bruch (freelance curator and author, Berlin), Keren Cytter (artist, Berlin), Philipp Fürnkäs (curator and author, Dusseldorf), Jennifer Gassmann (project manager /festival programme VIDEONALE.14, Bonn), Tasja Langenbach (artistic director of VIDEONALE.14, Bonn), Rolf Quaghebeur (director of Argos centre for art & media Brussels), Sabine Maria Schmidt (curator and author, Düsseldorf), Olaf Stüber (publisher, curator of Videoart at Midnight, Berlin).

The exhibition architecture of VIDEONALE.14 will be the work of Julia Büchel, Hochschule für Gestaltung Basel (Basel College of Art and Design), Masterstudio Design (supervised by Prof. Andreas Wenger).

Tags: Sergio Belinchón, Bigert & Bergström, Eli Cortiñas, Keren Cytter, Christian Jankowski, C.T. Jasper, Ou Jin, Mikhail Karikis, Laleh Khorramian, Aglaia Konrad, Clemens Krauss, Melanie Manchot, Dani Marti, Agnes Meyer-Brandis, Uriel Orlow, Sabine Maria Schmidt, Frances Scholz, Lina Selander, Martin Skauen, Hito Steyerl, Gernot Wieland, Tobias Yves Zintel