Whitney Museum

Whitney Biennial 2006

02 Mar - 28 May 2006

Francesco Vezzoli, "Trailer for a Remake of Gore Vidal’s Caligula", 2005, video still © Francesco Vezzoli
Whitney Biennial 2006: Day for Night opens March 2, filling the Whitney with the work of some of the most creative contemporary artists in the world. This year’s Biennial breaks boundaries in several new ways. In addition to the list of artists previously announced, this Biennial includes many more artists who are involved through special projects within the exhibition itself. A show-within-a-show, the Wrong Gallery’s Down by Law, features 54 artists, living and dead, whose work explores the dark side of the American psyche. Another 180 artists are contributing panels to create a monumental Peace Tower that is going up in the Sculpture Court, directly in front of the museum. Taken as a whole, these—and several other—projects and programs have the effect of widening the exhibition to include works by hundreds more artists, expanding the horizons of the Biennial in a variety of ways. The 2006 Biennial, curated by Chrissie Iles and Philippe Vergne, runs at the Whitney from March 2 through May 28.

Chrissie Iles and Philippe Vergne

Jennifer Allora and Guillermo Calzadilla
Dawolu Jabari Anderson
Kenneth Anger
Dominic Angerame
Christina Battle
James Benning
Bernadette Corporation
Amy Blakemore
Louise Bourque
Mark Bradford
Troy Brauntuch
Anthony Burdin
George Butler
Carolina Caycedo
The Center for Land Use Interpretation
Paul Chan
Lori Cheatle and Daisy Wright
Ira Cohen
Martha Colburn
Dan Colen
Anne Collier
Tony Conrad
Critical Art Ensemble
Jamal Cyrus
Miles Davis
Deep Dish Television Network
Lucas DeGiulio
Mark di Suvero and Rirkrit Tiravanija
Peter Doig
Trisha Donnelly
Jimmie Durham
Kenya Evans
Urs Fischer
David Gatten
Joe Gibbons
Robert Gober
Deva Graf
Rodney Graham
Hannah Greely
Mark Grotjahn
Jay Heikes
Doug Henry
Pierre Huyghe
Dorothy Iannone
Matthew Day Jackson
Cameron Jamie
Natalie Jeremijenko and Phil Taylor
Daniel Johnston
Lewis Klahr
Jutta Koether
Andrew Lampert
Lisa Lapinski
Liz Larner
Hanna Liden
Jeanne Liotta
Marie Losier
Florian Maier-Aichen
Monica Majoli
Yuri Masnyj
T. Kelly Mason and Diana Thater
Adam McEwen
Taylor Mead
Josephine Meckseper
Marilyn Minter
Matthew Monahan
JP Munro
Jesús “Bubu” Negrón
Kori Newkirk
Todd Norsten
Jim O’Rourke
Otabenga Jones & Associates
Tony Oursler, with Dan Graham, Rodney Graham, Laurent P. Berger, and Japanther
Steven Parrino
Ed Paschke
Mathias Poledna
Robert A. Pruitt
Jennifer Reeves
Richard Serra
Gedi Sibony
Jennie Smith
Dash Snow
Michael Snow
Reena Spaulings
Rudolf Stingel
Angela Strassheim
Zoe Strauss
Studio Film Club
Billy Sullivan
Spencer Sweeney
Ryan Trecartin
Chris Vasell
Francesco Vezzoli
Kelley Walker
Nari Ward
Christopher Williams
Jordan Wolfson
The Wrong Gallery
Aaron Young


© Francesco Vezzoli
Still from Trailer for a Remake of Gore VIdal's Caligula, 2005.
35mm film transferred to video, color, sound; 5:35 min.
Photography by Matthias Vriens

Tags: Kenneth Anger, James Benning, Mark Bradford, Troy Brauntuch, Anthony Burdin, Carolina Caycedo, Paul Chan, Martha Colburn, Dan Colen, Anne Collier, Tony Conrad, Bernadette Corporation, Critical Art Ensemble (CAE), N. Dash, Peter Doig, Trisha Donnelly, Jimmie Durham, Urs Fischer, Robert Gober, Rodney Graham, Dan Graham, Hannah Greely, Mark Grotjahn, Jay Heikes, Pierre Huyghe, Dorothy Iannone, The Center for Land Use Interpretation, Matthew Day Jackson, Cameron Jamie, Lewis Klahr, Jutta Koether, Lisa Lapinski, Liz Larner, Florian Maier-Aichen, Florian Maier–aichen, Monica Majoli, T. Kelly Mason, Adam McEwen, Josephine Meckseper, Marilyn Minter, Matthew Monahan, Jp Munro, Kori Newkirk, Tony Oursler, Steven Parrino, Ed Paschke, Mathias Poledna, Robert A. Pruitt, Richard Serra, Gedi Sibony, Dash Snow, Michael Snow, Reena Spaulings, Rudolf Stingel, Sturtevant, Billy Sullivan, Mark di Suvero, Spencer Sweeney, Al Taylor, Diana Thater, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Ryan Trecartin, Chris Vasell, Francesco Vezzoli, Kelley Walker, Nari Ward, Christopher Williams, Jordan Wolfson, Aaron Young